I Can’t Read Books Anymore

What has the Internet done to my brain?

Ellen Eastwood
4 min readJul 22, 2022
Image of a young Asian woman in a white top reading a book at a table on a balcony. There is a rose on the table.
Photo by Streetwindy at Pexels

I’ve been a reader for as long as I can remember.

My mom told me that when I was three, I could read books on my own. It seems a little far-fetched, but there’s no doubt I practically came out of the womb reading.

Growing up, loving books was an integral part of my identity. While other kids played sports, I passed my days in The Secret Garden and along the White Way of Delight with Anne Shirley.

As a teen, I imagined being Elizabeth Bennet, swooning over Mr. Darcy.

In my 20s, I’d say “42” in a knowing tone every time someone realized the meaning of life wasn’t an answer but a question.

Coming from a dysfunctional home, I learned early how to escape into a book. Reading was a buffer from the out-of-control ego and hostility around me. It made me feel peaceful and gave me imaginary places to go, safe from the drama.

I was known for my reader’s vocabulary. Pre-Google, people would regularly ask me what this or that word meant.

“How do you always know?” they’d ask.

“Read more books,” I’d say.

At one point I was in two different book clubs. It was a great conduit to discover reads I’d never have chosen…

--

--

Ellen Eastwood

Culture and lifestyle writer | Generalist | Curious | Witty on a good day | Contact: elleneastwood@outlook.com