FULL CIRCLE

You Never Know When Life Will Smack You Across The Face

She gave me a lot more than a pedicure

Ellen Eastwood
3 min readMay 27, 2024

--

A woman looking away from camera holding a clear umbrella on a cloudy day
Photo by Remy_Loz on Unsplash

I picked a terrible day for a pedicure. Raising my umbrella against the drizzly chill, I mentally cursed that I had to wear sandals. But closed-toed shoes don’t mix with freshly applied lacquer.

I almost canceled, but the summer heat was on the way and I had neglected winter feet. It needed to be done.

I’d booked my appointment at a new place. They sent me three-step instructions for the door that sounded like the opening of an Indiana Jones movie. I had to time pulling the door, entering the code, and turning the handle clockwise just right or it wouldn’t open. After four attempts while managing a dripping umbrella, I gave up and banged on the glass. No one came, so I tried once more and groaned in relief when I heard the click.

As I trudged up two flights of stairs I made a mental note to always read reviews before trying new places. The manager pointed me to a threadbare recliner perched on a three-foot-high wooden mount. There was no step, not even a stool, so I backed onto the seat butt-first and climbed my way in. There was another pedicure chair on the wall opposite me so I had to hold my legs in an awkward horizontal bend the entire time.

--

--

Ellen Eastwood

Culture and lifestyle writer | Generalist | Curious | Witty on a good day | Contact: elleneastwood@outlook.com